Project Description

The architectural competition was announced in February 2005. It was met with great interest — 245 architects from 36 countries responded. Out of the 119 submitted entries, the competition jury invited 11 teams to present their designs. The competition rules stipulated that the building had to be functional and modern, and offer a recognizable, characteristic form that make it a symbol of modern-day Warsaw. It was to demonstrate the achievements of Jewish culture without overshadowing the Monument to the Ghetto Heroes, which was to remain the reference point for the entire surroundings. In order to minimize interference with the local area, the building was to occupy a third of the square, and its height was to correspond with the surrounding residential blocks. The winners were announced on 30 June 2005. The main award went to Lahdelma & Mahlamäki, and three second prizes to Zvi Hecker, Kengo Kuma, and Daniel Libeskind. On the basis of the competition results, the public partners ordered detailed designs for the museum building and supervised its construction.