Home/Life in Poland/Photo Fridays with Chuck Fishman

International award-winning photographer Chuck Fishman has been involved in Polish Jewish life for more than 40 years. His first monograph, Polish Jews: The Final Chapter, was published in 1977 in the United States. His photographs have appeared on the covers of Time, Life, Fortune, Newsweek, The London Sunday Times and The Economist. His work is included in the collections of the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery; the United Nations; POLIN: The Museum of the History of Polish Jews; and The Studio Museum in Harlem. He has earned prestigious World Press Photo Foundation medals four times. We are thrilled and honored to be able to present each week one of Chuck’s iconic photos of Polish Jewish life.
Enjoy.

*Click on photo or ‘Read More’ for full size and resolution*

Polish Jews 2014 Jerzy Kichler, 66, at the White Stork Synagogue in Wroclaw. Kichler was both president of Wroclaw’s Jewish Community and President of the Union of Religious Jewish Communities in Poland and was involved in the renovation of the synagogue. June 2014.

2019-11-13T02:20:17+00:00November 8th, 2019|Life in Poland, Photo Fridays with Chuck Fishman|

Moshe Shapiro, in Warsaw’s kosher kitchen after shabbat services held in the Beit Midrash on ul. Twarda. January 13, 1979.

2019-11-13T02:22:11+00:00November 1st, 2019|Life in Poland, Photo Fridays with Chuck Fishman|

Polish Jews 2013 Sunday morning services during Sukkot in Nozyk Synagogue. Warsaw, Poland, Sept. 22, 2013. The Nozyk Synagogue was the only synagogue, of 400 in Warsaw, to remain intact thru WWII.

2019-10-17T20:39:36+00:00October 18th, 2019|Life in Poland, Photo Fridays with Chuck Fishman|

Children playing with lulav and esrog during sukkot in the Nozyk Synagogue sukkah. Warsaw, Poland. Sept. 2013.

2019-11-11T03:43:57+00:00October 11th, 2019|Life in Poland, Photo Fridays with Chuck Fishman|

Polish Jews 2014 Brit Milah (Bris) of 8-day-old Aaron Yosef Kowalski at the Isaac Synagogue in Krakow, Poland. The Isaac Synagogue was built in 1644. July 2014.